Something Good

The saying “Every day may not be good, but there is something good in every day” is 100% true. I know it’s hard to see anything good when you’re down in the muck and more of your depression, when the demons are screaming at you, when you just want it all to end. But I PROMISE you, it’s there. Even if it’s something as simple as the fact that you’re alive! Trust me, even though YOU may not see that as a good thing, someone else does. The lie that we tell ourselves, “everyone would be better off if I died” is so hurtful, no only to ourselves, but to everyone who cares about you. And okay, maybe your family hates you (I sincerely hope not), maybe you don’t have any friends (God forbid), but you know what? I care about you. That’s right, YOU. The one reading this. I don’t care who you are, where you live, what your sexual orientation is, what the color of your skin is, what you’ve done…I care about you. And, I’m also incredibly proud of you. I know what it’s like, to literally force yourself out of bed every day. I know what it’s like to dread waking up, dread facing consciousness and the screaming of those demons. I know that intimately. So, even if you’re laying in your bed or on the couch, in your pajamas, reading this…you woke up today. WELL DONE, YOU!!! I’m so proud of you! Great job. ๐Ÿ™‚ And no, that’s not sarcasm in the least. You woke up. You’re breathing in and out, you’re thinking, you’re processing thoughts…and if you’ve eaten today, which I know can also be a demon, way to go with that as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re doing wonderfully, and I know that you are capable of so much more. I care about You. I am proud of You. I LOVE YOU.

Anyways, back to my point. There is something good in every single day. It’s usually so tiny and miniscule, like a smile from a stranger, or the fact that they have your favorite flavor slushie, or they play your favorite song on the radio at the mall, or a friend calls you, or a kitten purrs at you, or a dog playfully barks at you…the universe if sul of wondrous things, and all we do is open our eyes to find them. So, I challenge you today to find something good in today. ANYTHING, but at least one thing good. And let me know what it is. I’m curious to see what makes you smile. ๐Ÿ™‚ My good thing today was getting an unexpected hug from my fiance. So, let me know. The more we look for the good things, the more we keep our sharp eyes out, the easier and the more they find us. Happy hunting, warriors, and as always, Stay Strong. โค

4 thoughts on “Something Good

  1. Not sure how I found you but December 10th was my birthday. I am a happy 74 year old guy who has been dealing with this beast for a long, long time. Happy doesn’t mean that the pain and uncertainty ever goes away. It doesn’t. But I have learned that mental illness and I have to share this one body and somehow, on many days, we do pretty well. Lots of help from the medical community, therapy, a couple of trips (self admitted) to a great psych hospital (last one 6 yrs ago) a life saving and life loving Border Collie companion who saves my life daily and most importantly….HOPE. Tough, confusing, challenging, awful, terrifying, dark and more. But everyday I experience something worth smiling about. Mental illness is ugly but the world is beautiful and I am eternally grateful having been able to have traveled such a long life and want to share with younger people that you can be happy, albeit it takes a bunch of effort, time, learning, faith (alot of faith) and more but it’s possible. It’s a few days until Christmas. I am not sad that it will just be Maggie (my dog) and me. I stay away from all things and all people that are negative or hurtful or things that bring back too any memories both good and bad. My best to all friends. BYW, my diagnosis: Bipolar I, GAD, Cluster B Personality Disorder…..and more.

    Howard

    Like

Leave a Reply

