Scars

“…and my scars remind me that the past is real…” ~Scars, Papa Roach

You can bury it, push it away, distract yourself, lie to yourself, not talk about it, or ignore it. None of that changes the fact that your past has happened, has happened to you, and is disturbingly real. The question is, how do we escape it?

“How do you leave the past behind/when it keeps finding ways to get to your heart?/It reaches way down deep/and tears you inside out/till you’re torn apart.” ~Rent, Rent.

The scars are real. The pain is real. The fight is real. The desire for it all to end is all too real. One day, the pain will fade, but the scars will always remain, as reminders of something that tried to destroy you and failed. But until then, until the past is something that can be borne without the paralyzing pain, how do you cope? How do you survive? How are we supposed to get through each day, hurting and suffering like we do?

I don’t have the answers. I can’t tell you how I make it through each day, because I honestly have no freaking clue. All I do know, is that I’m stronger than whatever is trying to destroy me. And, that you are too, fellow warriors. Stay Strong. ❤

Leave a Reply

