Pressing On

Yesterday was…well, it was very productive. I did a lot of responsible adult things, and tried to keep my demons at bay. This morning, I woke up tired (didn’t sleep well), but excited. Here I am, a few hours later, trying to keep my spirits up for the afternoon, and feeling like that’s harder and harder to do with each passing minute. But today, because I gave my word, I will press on. I will follow through with my plans for this afternoon, instead of running home back to bed like the coward I would feel like. I’m not saying that following through is more important than taking care of myself, not even close. But, I can’t keep hiding. I think, that sometimes, part of taking care of yourself IS pressing on, is pushing yourself to follow through with plans when your body would much rather be curled up on the couch, eating comfort foods and watching Glee. I’m saying, it takes balance, it takes knowing what you are capable of that day, it takes listening to yourself, and knowing if you can push yourself just a little bit more than you did yesterday. I know, that when I come home this evening, I will be drained, possibly cross and short-tempered, and needing a lot of comforting hugs and love. I aware of that, and am willing to go through that, so that I can enjoy myself this afternoon. So, I guess what I’m trying to say, is learn yourself. Learn what you are capable of, learn what your limits are, and some days, try to push yourself a tiny bit past them. Follow through with plans when you’re not sure if you can, mainly to try and see. And above all, press on through the pain. Yes, it will hurt. But if you’re at a place where you can acknowledge the pain, and can grow from it, then press on through it. If you’re not there yet, don’t worry!! You’ll get there, in your own time, I promise. There is no rush, recovery is NOT a race. Take you time with yourself. Be gentle with yourself. Take care with yourself. Treat yourself well, and be careful with yourself. But above all, strive to grow through this. Press on through the battles, press on through the war, you can get through this better, tougher, and stronger. Press on, dear ones.

 

Stay strong. ❤

Leave a Reply

